Friends,
As we head into April 2009, we are excited about another Easter. On April 12th we celebrate the Resurrection of Jesus Christ. Jesus is not on the cross, nor is he any longer in the grave. HE IS ALIVE! We remind ourselves about the mystery of the faith each time we take part in the Service of Word and Table, more commonly known as Holy Communion. In this service we say, “Christ has died, Christ is risen, Christ will come again.”

Jesus is coming back to this earth. Numerous times he said this to his disciples. The first time Jesus was here he straightened up our relationship with God. The next time he comes, all of creation will get straightened up (Romans 8). We sometimes forget what Jesus said about his going away. He said this comment to the Pharisees: “I will be with you a little while longer, and then I am going to him who sent me. You will search for me, but you will not find me; and where I am going, you cannot come.” This is in John 7:33-34. He said this again in John 8:21. Then Jesus said this to his disciples in John 13:33: “Little children, I am with you only a little longer. You will look for me; and as I said to the Jews so now I say to you, ‘Where I am going, you cannot come.’”

Are we not glad that Jesus is coming back? If we are glad that he is coming back, let us refrain from trying to get where he is. Instead, let us live faithful lives until he returns once again. Happy Resurrection Day!

Leave a Reply

