Doubts about this technology stuff. . .

OK, so I have a Twitter account (@JohnGrimm5).  So I am blogging, well at least sporadically I am.  How can one keep up with when the last time one posted on either format?  Oh, then there is the Facebook page.  There you get to see who can goad you into typing something about a controversial topic.  I dropped MySpace years ago because of the raunchy nature of the content.  

I am considering dropping all three.  Would I have more time for other things?  Maybe.  Would I be able to communicate just as effectively with family, friends, and colleagues via other means?  Maybe.  

I am not like some super pastors.  Paul, in the Bible, called them super-apostles.  There is a time for everything, as the writer of Ecclesiastes wrote.  Paul, again from the Bible, says that “All things are permissible for me, but not all things are beneficial.  All things are are lawful for me, but I will not be dominated by anything.” (1 Corinthians 6:1).  This verse, and its context, could lead us into a deeper discussion about how the American culture is operating, but I could be deemed judgmental.

Maybe, if I used the time on Twitter, Facebook, and in this blog as time for me to be an ambassador for Christ, then I wouldn’t doubt the time spent on this technology stuff.  And the Lord knows that I don’t need to spend every waking moment on social media to represent Jesus.  There is something good that can be said about a handshake, a firm handshake, and a conversation over some good sweet tea.  And I don’t think I can find that with this technology stuff.

3 thoughts on “Doubts about this technology stuff. . .

  1. I say “everything in moderation”. While there’s no substitute for “a firm handshake, and a conversation over some good sweet tea”, it’s hard to argue with the power of the internet to reach the masses. Although I’m a computer geek by trade, I must admit that it took me quite a while to warm up to Facebook. However, I’ve come to realize that I’m able to maintain relationships that would otherwise fade due to distance and time constraints. I think a balance between the personal and technological connections is the right answer. As someone who enjoys your blog and Facebook posts, I hope you stick with them. Let’s do lunch.

    Like

  2. Maybe there is room for many different approaches primarily because there are many different kinds of people. Most of us thrive on social interaction, but there are folk who find a firm handshake and face-to-face conversation to be uncomfortably confrontational. There are also folk who are open to spiritual discussions as long as there is not the pressure of response. Face to face witnessing – and especially corporate worship – inherently calls for response.

    Perhaps because of my background, I am drawn to interact with folk who feel intimidated by traditional approaches. If I happen to interact with others along the way, so much the better. And if there are those who get tired of on-line contact and crave a firm handshake and some sweet tea (or espresso, maybe?) they can switch off the box and get outside. I will be doing that myself from time to time.

    Sometimes, though, I think I am a missionary to the ‘Net. Maybe it really is a calling, and some folk are fine with a short-term mission adventure while others are immersed in the field. I feel pretty immersed. I suppose you could say I feel called.

    Like

Leave a Reply

