Is it possible for a preacher to have a week in which the preacher doesn’t preach?

Yes, it is possible to have a week in which a preacher does not have to preach a sermon!  Theses Sunday’s are found a few times a year.

What does a preacher do with not having to spend 10-15 hours for that week on a sermon?  Hopefully, the preacher is spending some time in prayer and searching the Scriptures for what God would have the preacher preach the next time the preacher can preach.  And that is how I spent my time last week.  I worked on the next sermon series with prayer and time in God’s Word.  There was even some time to prepare for a sermon series in the fall!

Whether the sermon series comes from an idea, such as the Apostle’s Creed, which the next sermon series is about, or following the Revised Common Lectionary, there is going to be time to speak with and listen to God.  God the Father helps me to use words well. God the Son helps me to remember the focus of preaching is God’s stuff.  God the Holy Spirit even enables me to change the sermon, even the morning of preaching!

I am glad that God helps me to look ahead and know what I can preach.  It is good to spend time with God in preparation for upcoming sermons.  It is also good to just enjoy time with God away from sermon preparation.  God is helping me in my life, as both a preacher and as a child of God.  If it were not for the latter, then I wouldn’t be called to be the former.

4 thoughts on “Is it possible for a preacher to have a week in which the preacher doesn’t preach?

  1. I am going to a monastary May 28 through June 2 to spend time in prayer and study to see where God wants my church to move next. I am SOOOO looking forward to uninterrupted time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

