Holy Conferencing: A Presentation to the UM Council of Bishops

This post gets to the heart of the matter of Christian/Holy conferencing. May God guide the people called United Methodists, and even other Christians, in living this way.

Vital Piety

I was invited by the Committee on Faith and Order of The United Methodist Church to give a presentation on holy conferencing to the Council of Bishops of The UMC on November 3, 2014. Below is the manuscript I used when I spoke, though I did depart from it in a few places. I have been asked by several people if I would make my notes available, and so am publishing them here. I have written previous articles here on this topic here, here, and here.

If there were one thing that United Methodism could do today that would be most likely to bring deep renewal and an outpouring of the Holy Spirit to our church, what would it be?

I believe that reclaiming an accurate understanding of holy conferencing in contemporary United Methodism is the most important thing that we could do as a church. And…

View original post 3,286 more words

Leave a Reply

