His harvest

Luke 10:1-12, 16-20

I don’t know if my kindergarten Sunday School teacher was ready for me. That’s right, there was the time I was in her class and for some reason she was looking over me at the table. I throw my fist up in the air. She got a bloody nose.

That wasn’t the only time I wasn’t doing what I needed to be doing in church. I was told when I was baptized as an infant I shook my fist at Reverend Kerry King! Yet, I still know my baptism is just as correct as any baptism any other person has received.

Through my early years at Harsh Memorial United Methodist Church, I continued to learn about the Bible, Jesus, and how to be a Christian. After completing Confirmation class, I started attending more worship services.

It was during a revival at Harsh Memorial in which I confessed my sins. That was one of the earliest times I recognized what Jesus did for me on the cross. It was shortly afterwards I heard God calling me to be a preacher. After my 2nd pastor heard my story, I started the candidacy process. By the end of the 1990’s, I was an ordained elder in the UMC. And I have been praying for more laborers to be sent into his harvest.

A. They were sent to talk about the kingdom of God (10:1-12)
+++1. Jesus sent out 70, in pairs, to prepare the way for himself
+++2. Jesus instructed them to ask the Lord to send out more laborers
+++3. It is dangerous business!
+++4. When entering a house, say, “Peace to this house.”
+++5. Tell those who have been healed, “The kingdom of God has come near to you.”
+++6. Even when people reject you, tell them, “The kingdom of God has come near.”
+++7. It is wonderful to see how God is working. He is moving through the land. People are coming to know Jesus Christ. How are people learning about Jesus? The Lord is sending laborers into his harvest. The workers tell about the kingdom of God being near. What do the laborers get out of this work?

B. We get to rejoice that more names are written in heaven (10:16-20)
+++1. For when we are laboring for the Lord, people get a chance to accept the Lord
+++2. However, as we labor for the Lord, people also can reject us and the Lord
+++3. Oh, in Jesus’ name, even the demons submit to us!
+++4. Jesus is glad we have this authority
+++5. For Jesus, the greatest thing is that our names are written in heaven!
+++6. Will we be able to rejoice when more people get their names written in heaven? Will be among those laborers who go into the field for the harvest? Oh, but we are fearful of being rejected? Well, rejection is going to happen. Just remember, those who listen to you, listens to Jesus. Those who reject you also reject Jesus and they reject God. Meanwhile, we keep listening to Jesus and rejoicing that our names are written in heaven.

I’m going to keep on preaching about Jesus. It is Jesus who died so I would know what obedience to God looks like, how to live a holy life. Jesus has helped me along the way, when people have rejected me and when people have listened to me. I have been able to say: “Repent, for the kingdom of God has come near.”

Will you join me in asking the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest? It will be good to rejoice that more names are written in heaven. Yet, the harvest won’t be brought in unless there are workers. It is good to know that as we work for God, nothing will hurt us.

What do you say? Is it time for us ask the Lord of the harvest to send us out into his harvest? Then we can be the workers who tell about the kingdom of God being near.

Leave a Reply

