A pastoral note on the Harvest

Dear Co-workers in Christ,

Most likely you and I have wanted to make our mothers proud. God has been good enough to bring us into this world. For the bare minimum of bringing us into this world, we thank God for our mothers. We know not all people have had good mothers. We know that not all women are mothers. We also know that that not all women desire to be mothers. Yet, because we are here, we each have a mother.

Growing up I am sure I sassed my mother. For which I was corrected by Mom, and then Dad when he found out about it! My Mom sacrificed much to get my sister and us four boys to a good place in life. She showed me how to care for my daily living needs and to help others. She showed me which plants to pull and which plants to leave in the garden! She loved me then and she loves me now. So, I thank God for my Mom.

Mom and Dad won’t have as big a garden this year. But that is alright, they have many shelves of home canned goods in the basement! They will keep working the earth to have a few fresh vegetables. They will enjoy a good harvest.

Much like my parents keep a vegetable garden, we Christians keep working the harvest. There will be a time for planting seeds in the spring. There will be time for creating the environment for the seeds to grow during the summer. We hope to enjoy a harvest from the seeds we plant. Finally, when it is winter we plan for the next year’s harvest. The harvest for which God has for us takes time to grow. We keep working to bring in the harvest God is providing.

It will be good for us to work so as to bring in the harvest. We have seeds to plant. We have growth to encourage. We can see God working as people turn to Jesus. How are we going to be part of the harvest?

Let us continue to work together as you and I are in Christ’s Service.

John

2 thoughts on “A pastoral note on the Harvest

  1. Excellent word, Brother.

    On May 11, 2017 12:43 PM, “John the United Methodist” wrote:

    > johntheunitedmethodist posted: “Dear Co-workers in Christ, Most likely you > and I have wanted to make our mothers proud. God has been good enough to > bring us into this world. For the bare minimum of bringing us into this > world, we thank God for our mothers. We know not all people have h” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

